Click on Map to Go to Google Maps Website


2015 Participating Sponsors


The following needlework companies, whose quality products are carried in many of your local yarn shops, have generously donated their fine products for the 2015 prize baskets:


* Anzula Luxury Fibers

* Berroco Fine Hand Knitting Yarns

* Blue Sky Alpacas

* Cascade Yarns

* Classic Elite Yarns

* Crystal Palace Yarns

* Fairmount Fibers (Manos del Uruguay)

* Fix-A-Stitch

* Gleener Ultimate Fuzz Remover

* Kelbourne Woolens

* Knitting Fever Inc. (KFI)

* Kraemer Yarns

* Misti International

* Mountain Colors Hand Dyed Yarn

* Plymouth Yarn Company

* Rowan Yarns

* Sirdar

* Skacel

* The BagSmith

* Three Irish Girls Yarn

* Trendsetter Yarns


* * *

2015 Participating Shops


Artists’ Gallery

1142 South Main Street

North Canton, OH  44720



Bare Naked Wools

211 15th Street NW

Canton, OH  44703



Black Locust Farm

110 Bank Street

Lodi, OH  44254


(cash or check only; no credit cards)


Cornerstone Yarns

Richfield Commons

4174 Wheatley Road

Richfield, OH  44286



Crochet Innovations

Brecksville Town Center

7660 Chippewa Road (Route 82)

Brecksville, OH  44141



Ewes d’Bleu

30559 Pinetree Road Suite 206 (2nd floor)
Pepper Pike, OH 44124



Fine Points

12620 Larchmere Boulevard

Cleveland, OH  44120



Harps & Thistles Yarn Emporium

129 Portage Trail

Cuyahoga Falls, OH  44221



Heidi & Lana

222 North 15th Street

Sebring, OH  44672



Knit Wit Knits

Courtyard Square

645 East State Street

Salem, OH  44460



My Sister’s Yarn Shop

ServUS Center at Raber Road

3477 Massillon Road (Route 241)

Uniontown (Green), OH  44685



RaeMarie Yarns

686 Main Street

Vermillion, OH  44089



River Colors Studio

1387 Sloane Avenue

Lakewood, OH  44107



Sally's Shop

141 College Street

Wadsworth, OH 44281



Smith’s Knitshop

25 West College Street

Oberlin, OH  44074



The Artful Yarn

100 North Main Street Suite 230 (in Step North)

Chagrin Falls, OH  44022



The Designing Woman

Merchants Square

137 Ghent Road

Fairlawn, OH  44333



The Flaming Ice Cube

Creekside Place

1449 Boardman-Canfield Road

Boardman, OH  44512



The Grainary

18359 Rowell Road (Route 161)

Wellington, OH  44090



The Knit Shop

226 South Chillicothe Road

Aurora, OH  44202



Whistler’s Glen Alpaca Farm

8114 Valley View Road

Hudson, OH 44236



* * *

2016 Dates Announced

For Yarn Discovery Tour

The 2016 Yarn Discovery Tour will begin on Tuesday, Sept. 6, and run through Saturday, Sept. 24, according to event organizers.

While details of Northeast Ohio’s annual “shop hop” for fiber enthusiasts are still being finalized, the 9th edition will be similar to the 2015 event.

This website will be updated in the coming weeks with more information about 2016 participating shops and sponsors, including a new map as well as any changes in rules for participation.

In the meantime details of last year’s YDT can be seen below and to the left.

Yarn Discovery Tour

2015 Prize Winners

Lora Meyer won the 2015 Yarn Discovery Tour Grand Prize Basket overflowing with quality yarns and accessories from 21 different needlework companies.  Her name was drawn at random from those who had their passports stamped at all 21 shops on the tour.


Other multi-shop winners included Ann-Marie Santin (15-shop Extraordinary Prize Basket), Barb Gray (10-shop Awesome Prize Basket) and Peggy Christman (5-shop Cool Prize Basket).


Along with prize baskets awarded by each of the 21 shops on the tour, a total of 25 prize winners were drawn at random from the record 677 fiber enthusiasts who participated in this year’s 8th annual Northeast Ohio “shop hop.”  The previous record was last year’s 567 Tourists.


Along with opportunities to have their names drawn as winners of the prize baskets, each Tourist received a 2015 YDT tote bag and measuring tape.  Full details on this year’s Tour can be seen below under rules for participation.

This year’s 19-day Tour was the longest in the event’s 8-year history and featured longer weekend hours for the convenience of Tourists trying to visit all 21 shops.

Preliminary planning is already underway for the 9th annual YDT expected to begin immediately after the Labor Day weekend in 2016.

Winners of all 25 prize baskets include:


21-Shop Grand Prize Winner


* Lora Meyer


15-Shop Prize Winner


* Ann-Marie Santin


10-Shop Prize Winner


* Barb Gray


5-Shop Prize Winner


* Peggy Christman


Individual Shop Prize Winners


* Andrea Baker (Artists’ Gallery)


* Regina Fraser (Bare Naked Wools)


* Harriet Smith (Black Locust Farm)


* Pat Blanche (Cornerstone Yarns)


* Mary Partlo (Crochet Innovations)


* Mark Snyder-Schulte (Ewes d’Bleu)


* Janet Scheid (Fine Points)


* Carol Metz (Harps & Thistles Yarn



* Teresa Burner (Heidi & Lana)


* Barb Gray (Knit Wit Knits)


* Jana Vermeer (My Sister’s Yarn Shop)


* Susan Plummer (RaeMarie Yarns)


* Tricia Cregger (River Colors Studio)


* Leanne Rzeszotarski (Sally’s Shop)


* Dolly Welch (Smith’s Knitshop)


* Karen Verderber (The Artful Yarn)


* Christine Krysa (The Designing Woman)


* Miriam Rosenblatt (The Flaming Ice Cube)


* Mary Adams (The Grainary)


* Beth Johnson (The Knit Shop)


* Kris Wyler (Whistler’s Glen Alpaca Farm)


* * *

2015 YDT Rules

For Participation

1.  Purchase a $5 passport from any participating shop listed, and the first 700 to register will also receive a YDT 2015 tote bag and measuring tape.

2.  Spend a minimum of $10 at a participating shop from September 8-26, get your passport stamped,  and receive a free pattern and entry in a drawing for that shop’s prize basket ($100 value).

3.  Get your passport stamped at multiple shops and qualify for drawings for prize baskets full of hundreds of dollars of yarns and accessories:

 * 5 shops — Cool Prize Basket

 * 10 shops — Awesome Prize Basket

 * 15 shops — Extraordinary Prize Basket

 * All 21 shops — Grand Prize Basket

 4.  Passports may be used on any of the 19 days of the tour during each shop’s regular business hours.  In addition, all shops have agreed to be open during the following common YDT hours:

 * Thursdays & Fridays 11 a.m. to 6 p.m.

 * Saturdays & Sundays 11 a.m. to 5 p.m.

NOTE:  Participating shops may have different hours on Mondays through Wednesdays (some may be closed), and some shops may have longer hours on Thursdays through Sundays.  All regular shop hours will be printed on each passport.  In addition each shop’s regular business hours can be double-checked on their website.

* * *

Last year’s four multi-shop prize baskets (pictured below) are overflowing with an array of fine needlework products donated by the 21 participating sponsors listed in the left column.


Website Updated July 14, 2016


Questions or Suggestions?  Contact Us at